my first guest post

I’m very honored to have been asked to guest-post by my dear friend and blogging mentor, Annabel Candy. Her latest blog, aptly named Successful Blogging,  is an offshoot of her original blog, which has garnered her thousands of loyal readers worldwide, thanks to her dogged pursuit of social media prowess.

It’s a business piece, but I think you might find it interesting anyway, so please check it out.

Here’s a little taste:

Why a Personal Blog Can Boost Your Business

My little personal blog, called seriously, scares me to death.

Okay, not literally, but every time I post my gut clenches a little, my heart pounds and I bite my nails down to stubs in anticipation of the comments I will get. That’s because everything I write about is mine — my experiences, my thoughts, my observations – anything I feel like really, and it is bare-all honest and real no matter what. If I’m not a little afraid to post it, then I know it isn’t quite right.

While my blog is personal and honest sometimes to the point of pain (which I try to defray with a dash of humor), my one rule is to never, ever blame others or write negatively about the ones I love. In that way it has become cathartic and better than cognitive therapy – it forces me to reframe my thinking and air out my dirty laundry publicly at the same time. It’s absolutely frightening and the most freeing, transformational thing I have ever done in my life.

And believe it or not, this uber-personal blog has been great for business…Read more


1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Annabel Candy, Successful Blogging
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 17:25:07

    Equally honored to have you on my blog and so glad you got into blogging:) I knew you’d be brilliant at it! x A

    Reply

Leave a comment